Parsec

A couple years ago I noticed that a lot of writers, both in general and people I knew personally, were involved in podcasts. I started thinking that perhaps I should have one but wondered what new angle I could come up with. I settled upon the idea of doing a monthly podcast with my equally geeky teenage daughter. She was game for it, and thus Generations Geek was born. (See “The Birth of Generations Geek: A Father/Daughter Nerdcast” back in September 2012.)

Flash forward to the present. Our twenty-third episode, “The War of the War of the Worlds,” has just gone up, and we’re looking forward to wrapping up our second year of podcasting in September with “Sizzler on Comics,” which will feature special guest Alan “Sizzler” Kistler, comic book historian and noted geek about town.

We’re pleased with the show and feel like we’ve found our groove. Our download numbers have been rising, and we’re enjoying ourselves. It was great fun when we were recently interviewed by the fine podcasting peoples from the Skiffy and Fanty Show, which was nominated for a 2014 Hugo Award. Interviewers Shaun Duke and Paul Weimer thought a father/daughter podcast was quite a unique animal. Similarly, when I mentioned doing a podcast with my daughter while I was on an Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. panel at CONvergence, we got a spontaneous “Awwwww” from the packed room.

So now comes the latest development: Generations Geek is a finalist in the 2014 Parsec Awards! We were nominated in the category “Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General),” which is a fancy way of saying we talk about all kinds of geeky stuff.

Congrats to all our fellow finalists at the podcasts Geek Radio Daily, PodCulture: Equal Opportunity Geekness, SpecFicMedia.com Presents: Consumption, and Sword & Laser. It’s a cliché because it’s true: it’s an honor just to be included in this group of hard-working geeks.

Parsec Award winners will be announced over Labor Day weekend at the long-running Dragon Con in Atlanta. Wish us luck!

