ImageThe other night Sandra and I were both having trouble sleeping. She got up and went to the bathroom, and when she came back we started talking. Then I woke up and was still alone . . . I’d dreamed that she’d come back to bed.

So then she got back from the bathroom, and I told her that I’d just dreamed that she’d come back, and that it was a little weird. Then I was startled awake by one of the cats jumping onto the bed . . . I’d still been dreaming.

I thought, “Wow, that was really weird, I had a dream within a dream.” Since the cat was on the bed, I figured Sandra must have left the bedroom door open when she came back from the bathroom. So I got up, put the cat out of the room, closed the door, and went back to bed. And then I woke up. I’d still been dreaming!

I’d had a dream within a dream within a dream . . . a bit disorienting. I was still wondering if I was really awake. But I was. Sandra had gotten back for real and was already asleep.

At least I think that’s what happened. It’s kind of hard to tell.

[Original version posted August 21, 2008]

