After too long an absence from posting while breathing deeply of the existential malaise emanating from the publishing industry (and please check out Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s fabulous blog on the subject), I’m back with fun news. It’s that special time of year known as Shore Leave!

I can’t overemphasize the importance of this convention to me. I first attended in 2006 with my second inclusion in the contest anthology Strange New Worlds. Still feeling rather fannish, I was nervous to be hanging out with writers like Greg Cox and Margaret Wander Bonanno. But over the years I’ve gotten to know a lot of the Trek writers, and they’re now friends and peers, people I stay in touch with year around via email, Facebook, and other various internet connections. In addition to gaining friends, getting to know people like Marco Palmieri, formerly the head of the Trek line at Simon & Schuster, also helped my career along as I sold a short story and then a novella thanks to Marco’s invitations to pitch. I look forward to Shore Leave for the chance to see the gang in person and to interact with all the great fans.

This year I’ll be taking part in five events. Friday night I’ll be an usher at the big celebrity roast of the fabulously nice Bob Greenberger. Following that is the annual Meet the Pros autographing session, where I’ll finally be signing copies of Myriad Universes: Shattered Light, containing my novella Honor in the Night. Saturday at 1 I’ll be in Salon A for the Star Trek Magazine panel, led by the magazine’s editor, Paul Simpson. I’ve had several articles published in the magazine. Later in the afternoon, at 4 in the Belmont Room, I’ll be on the Myriad Universes panel, with a smattering of authors who’ve been included in the three volumes of the series. On Sunday at 11 in Salon F I’ll be part of the Making of a Reboot panel, led by Kevin Dilmore, as we make the case for what TV show we’d each like to reboot and how we’d approach it. I’m rebooting the classic British series UFO.

I hope to see you there!

